Author Topic: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!  (Read 7186 times)

Offline Harleyquin

  • NCSoft Staff
  • Recruit First Class
  • *****
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: 12
Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« on: January 09, 2008, 11:09:23 PM »
Hi TR fans!

I wanted to introduce myself and let everyone know that I am going to be reading the Bug forums and trying to answer or comment on as many issues as I can.  I thought I would also tell you a little about my gaming history.

I have been playing games since the original NES and have been hooked ever since.  I am a big Nintendo fangirl and even have a couple of NES tattoos.  I have been playing MMOs for about six years and love TR.  I test a lot of class and combat balancing and love playing the Spy class in game.  (Stealthers FTW!)  Outside of TR I play a lot on my Nintendo DS and my old school systems.

Harleyquin
When stating a problem or bug please be as detailed and specific as possible.  Screen shots are also always helpful.  Thank you.

Offline Kurgan

  • Recruit First Class
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 6
  • There, can be only one.
    • The Legion - VtS
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2008, 11:32:09 PM »
Again, Sega > Nintendo  :D

Sic Infit, Solve Lora Infernis
The Legion <VtS> - Leviathan

Offline Harleyquin

  • NCSoft Staff
  • Recruit First Class
  • *****
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: 12
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2008, 12:01:28 AM »
I think Link could take Sonic any day of the weak.  8)
When stating a problem or bug please be as detailed and specific as possible.  Screen shots are also always helpful.  Thank you.

Offline Gangrel

  • Caffine Junkie
  • Administrator
  • Second Lieutenant
  • *****
  • Posts: 3325
  • Karma: 65535
  • Gangrel in game... any server
    • Blog: Semi-Random mutterings and musings
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2008, 12:12:42 AM »
Ok before we start the whole 8 bit warz again... can we at least do it over a few rounds of IK+?
1) I reject your reality.... and substitute my own
2) Not to be used when upset... will void warranty
3) Stoke me a clipper i will be back for dinner
4) Never tell Gangrel to do anything... he will probably get it wrong
5) I have seen more intelligence from an NPC AI in TR beta, than from most MMO players.
6) BLOG ME!


Quote from: Lomez
WARNING! Swedish wall-of-text hits you for bork-bork-bork damage!

Offline Drexus

  • Corporal
  • **
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: 6
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2008, 12:21:24 AM »
Welcome to the boards. :)

Too many old great Nintendo and Sega games for me to pick a fave side. ;)
Centaurus server: Drexus ~ [35 Grenadier] ~ [31 Guardian] ~ [30 Sniper] ~ [30 Spy] ~ [26 Sapper] ~ [15 Biotechnician]

Offline Kurgan

  • Recruit First Class
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 6
  • There, can be only one.
    • The Legion - VtS
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2008, 12:32:13 AM »
My duck hunter skills would be a case of 1 shot 1 kill for Link :D

Sic Infit, Solve Lora Infernis
The Legion <VtS> - Leviathan

Offline smooth

  • Gunnery Sergeant
  • ***
  • Posts: 760
  • Karma: -55500
  • Say Hello to my new Girl!
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2008, 01:50:15 AM »
I think Link could take Sonic any day of the weak.  8)

Hell yeah he could!


Ok.  Are we posting here for bug fixes/questions/problems?

Or are you going to be posting in response to a problem anywhere?

PS OH..Thanks for coming on board and can't wait to hear from you..
Someone has an attitude!

Offline Kurgan

  • Recruit First Class
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: 6
  • There, can be only one.
    • The Legion - VtS
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2008, 01:52:47 AM »
I think Link could take Sonic any day of the weak.  8)

Hell yeah he could!


Ok.  Are we posting here for bug fixes/questions/problems?

Or are you going to be posting in response to a problem anywhere?

PS OH..Thanks for coming on board and can't wait to hear from you..

AFAIK its just an intro thread, but if were talking bug/fixes etc in this thread, Link needs nerfing, hes overpowered and Sonic needs to be tweaked.

Sic Infit, Solve Lora Infernis
The Legion <VtS> - Leviathan

Offline teskon

  • Server Stealer
  • Second Lieutenant
  • ****
  • Posts: 2038
  • Karma: -551
  • demolitionist ! guardian ! grenadier !
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2008, 06:14:43 AM »
I am a big Nintendo fangirl and even have a couple of NES tattoos. 

pix plox for proof !

at anything else, have fun
<><<>><>
the machine mother told us of the planet of your birth - we know how you have harmed this place, with your pollution, your violence, and your dischord - but when we arrive there, we will cleanse the surface of that place, and merge it, with the harmony of the many
<><<>><>

Offline Harleyquin

  • NCSoft Staff
  • Recruit First Class
  • *****
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: 12
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2008, 07:24:43 PM »
My role here will be to respond to bug postings.  I.E. Yes X is a known issue.  No X was not known.  If I have information on when players will see a fix then I will post that as well.

No, please do not post bugs on this thread.  It would be more helpful to post a new topic in the Bug and Tech Issues forum.  As always please be as specific as possible when describing a bug;  there is no such thing as too much information. 

As for my tattoo, no pics to post but I have a Tri-Force and a 1UP Mushroom. 
When stating a problem or bug please be as detailed and specific as possible.  Screen shots are also always helpful.  Thank you.

Offline vballkid

  • Recruit First Class
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: -1
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2008, 08:15:40 PM »
Welcome to the Boards~ its nice to know your out there trollin the forum  >:D
Wicked tatoos btw  ;D

Offline Abriel

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: -2
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2008, 04:29:57 PM »
I think Link could take Sonic any day of the weak.  8)
Dude, Link wouldn't be able to see Sonic, much less ever hit him.   >:(

. . . j/k  XD

Welcome, and glad to see another rep around!

Offline edubya

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: -1
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2008, 04:50:02 PM »
Hello,

I just bought Tabula Rasa and have been trying to play the game, but have been unsuccessful. I was able to install it successfully and received no warnings or issues with my hardware during installation. On running the game the first time I received a message that stated that my graphics settings had been updated for gameplay. When I run the game I get through the pre-game cinematic and then it appears to start to bring up the "start" screen. I can hear music going and I sometimes see what appears to be a thin white border being drawn around the edge of my screen. This border flicks off and on a few times and then the music seems to get stuck on one note, making a "ee-ee-ee-ee-ee-ee" kind of stutter sound and I have a black screen. At this point my whole computer locks up and I can't even ctrl-alt-del to get to task manager. I have to do a hard power down and restart the comp.

I am running the game on an HP 6710b laptop, with Intel core2 duo 2Ghz and 2GB RAM. It's a pretty beefy laptop I bought in October of last year. I am running Windows Vista Business 64-bit and have my resolution set to 1680x1050. (Here's a link -- http://www.pcconnection.com/IPA/Shop/Product/Detail.htm?sku=8027953)

I really want to run the game! Can you shed any light on what might be causing the problem?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Offline PegasusMD

  • News Updater Junkie
  • Gunnery Sergeant
  • ***
  • Posts: 1073
  • Karma: 8
  • Standing on a rainbow
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #13 on: March 17, 2008, 04:54:51 PM »
Basicly your graphics is not supported for the game. intergrated Intel chipssets 95% of the time will not work well with high intensive graphic games.  Also your graphic card uses shared memory for it's graphics operation and the game required dedicated memory on the graphics card.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2008, 05:01:08 PM by PegasusMD »
Place your clothes and weapons where you can find them in the dark. - Heinlein
ingame name all servers - Pegasus
Have you heard the POP this morning?
"Close is not need with Nukes"

Offline edubya

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: -1
Re: Hi from your friendly neighborhood QA rep!
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2008, 05:00:47 PM »
So is this a problem that can be fixed by getting a new graphics card for my laptop? Or is that not something that can be done with configuration I have? By the way, thanks for your response and your help. I really appreciate it.